3 Amazing Organizations & Causes for 2009

For those of you who have met me, you know that I have “save the puppy” syndrome and want to help everyone and every cause that I believe in.  That being said, I have decided that in order to keep my sanity I needed to select a few organizations or causes that were important to me for 2009.  I invite you to select your three most important causes for 2009 and share them with everyone as well.  This initiative should help to create awareness for what we believe in, and thereby help the ones we would like to assist.

Here are the three causes Creative Wisdom and Blueleaf Creative have chosen to support on 2009.

logocmi-1logom31.  Count Me In. is the leading national not for profit provider of resources, business education and community support for women entrepreneurs seeking to grow micro businesses to million dollar enterprises.  The program provides a combination of money, mentoring, marketing and technology tools that women entrepreneurs need to help grow their businesses from micro to $millions.  For 2009 Count Me In will be sponsoring The M3 Race (M3 stand for  Make Mine a Million $ business).  You can learn more about The M3 Race by visiting their site or by reading my blog post Make Mine a Million $ Business.  It was through Count Me In that I was selected as one of 25 women in the country to receive the Sam Walton Emerging Entrepreneur Award.  The support I am getting from Sam’s Club and Count Me In as a result of receiving that award is amazing.  HOW I AM SUPPORTING THIS ORGANIZATON: It is one of my top priorities to share with women business owners everywhere the amazing resource Count Me In provides and thank Sam’s Club over and over again for selecting me for this amazing honor.  I will be sharing information on my blog, answering questions you may have about Count Me In on Twitter, Facebook and via email.

picture-162.  The Emancipation Network The Emancipation Network (TEN) is an international organization dedicated to fighting human trafficking and modern day slavery. They help survivors of slavery rebuild their lives after rescue from slavery, with sustainable income, education and help reintegrating into society. They work to prevent slavery in high risk communities such as red light and refugee communities, by creating jobs for adults and through volunteer trips and donations to our shelter partners for rescue, school fees, emergency needs and reintegration.  TEN imports and sell beautiful handicraft products made by survivors of slavery and persons at risk of being trafficked into slavery.  Sarah Symons, who I have met personally, is an amazing woman who is dedicated to this cause.  You can learn more about Sarah and what she is doing by reading Everyday MiraclesHOW I AM SUPPORTING THIS ORGANIZATON: I will be working with Sarah at MadeBySurvivors.com & The Emancipation Newtork pro bono to help them increase awareness of global slavery and human trafficking.  Look for tweets, blog posts, Facebook updates and more regarding this amazing woman and her work!

3.  Boys Scouts of America My son has been involved with cub scouts for 4 years now and I have volunteered over 800 hours of my time to help this amazing organization.  I recommend everyone with son’s to get them involved with scouts and then volunteer with scouting yourself!  HOW I AM SUPPORTING THIS ORGANIZATON: I will continue to serve as den leader, assistant cubmaster and PR chair for my son’s pack to help him and other boys become strong men in our community.

What are the 3 organizations you believe in?  Please share them and help create awareness!  If you believe in any of the causes I do – please let me know – I would love to work with you on helping those causes through a joint effort!

Much love and prosperity to you all in 2009 and beyond!

Posted By Leah Dossey, owner, art director and designer at Blueleaf Creative.  Contact Leah at ldossey@blueleafcreative.com  Follow Leah on Twitter,  join the facbook group Creative Wisdom, or become a fan of Blueleaf Creative.

One Response

  1. I never really knew about TEN but the information have provided is a great look at them. I am going to research them further and will probably add it to my list of organizations to support.

    Currently I work closely with Cookies for Kids Cancer which throw bake sales to raise funds for Pediatric Cancer research. I also work with City of Hope which is near here as well. I love children (none of my own) and wish to do what I can for our future.

Leave a comment